NCSO Designation

Back to Home Page



The objective of the National Construction Safety Officer (NCSO™) program is to provide verification of a nationally recognized level of competency in relation to construction safety. The NCSO™ program will provide practical training in various construction safety management skills and principles.

Persons who achieve the
NCSO™ designation will have a combination of three years of practical construction experience; providing a valuable resource to management in the administration and implementation of a company's health and safety program.

NCSO™ Application Portal

If you already have an account with us?  Please click here to login
If you do not have an account yet?  Please click here to sign up

Downloads & Links

NCSO™ Frequently Asked Questions

NCSO™ Terms of Participation

CSS Certificate Holder List 2016

Add your name to the NCSO Email Update List

1.  Compulsory Courses

BCCSA Specific Training

  • Leadership for Safety Excellence (LSE)™ (2 days)

  • BC Construction Safety Legislation and Administration (2 days)

  • Principles of Health and Safety Management (PHSM) Online (4-6 hours)

  • COR Internal Auditor Training (Pre-Requisite: PHSM) (2 days)

  • WHMIS 2015 Train the Trainer (1 day)

  • Principles of Injury Management (1 day)

  • Train The Safety Trainer (1 day)

  • CSTS-09: Construction Safety Training System Online (4-6 hours)

Compulsory Training (Offered by an Approved Training Provider - Click here to see list)

  • Fall Protection (1day)

  • Level 1 First Aid (1 day)

2.  Elective Courses

BCCSA Specific Training

  • Medium-High Hazard Traffic Control (2 days)

  • ESTS: Electrical Safety Training System Online (4-6 hours)

  • RSTS: Roadbuilders Safety Training System Online (4-6 hours)

Elective Training (Offered by an Approved Training Provider - Click here to see list)

  • Utility Locating Specialist Training (3 days)

  • Confined Space Entry/Monitor (1 day)

  • Respiratory Protection and Fit Tester (3.5 hours)

  • Transportation of Dangerous Goods Online (2 hours)

Upon completion of the mandatory courses, two electives, completion of a safety proficiency assignment and submission of experience documentation an individual may submit their application to write the final examination required to obtain the designation of National Construction Safety Officer.

The NCSO™ designation expires after three years. To maintain your designation, you will be required to submit updated copies of any completed certificates that have expired from the date you receive your designation.

NCSO™ Provincial and National Exams

Examination dates are scheduled based on demand.  Once your application is submitted and approved, you will receive dates to register for the exam.

For more information please contact: